Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Robotic pet, still an interest in manufacture and public demand, or not?  (Read 3423 times)

snowy

• Fossil savant
  • Female

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering, was all the robotic pets manufacturing just a phase? I mean we have pleo, now pleo rb, aibo, paro, but I don't seem to hear anything anymore like new releases of these fantastic robots, except the lovely pleo rb, I heard sony aren't making robotic pets? But I am new to all this, I don't visit robotic forums, I know some of you have lots of different electronic pet robots and are well informed, does anyone know if the interest in pet robots is still as keen as it used to be?

sorry to sound silly, I don't have much knowledge of robotics

Dee x (snowy and munchkin) xx

Teddscau

• Pleo explorer
  • ca Female
  • Pleo(s): Chloe, my green, white-eyed RB
Re: Robotic pet, still an interest in manufacture and public demand, or not?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 10:57:47 PM »

I think it has phased out. People buy into cheaper, lame excuses for robots. It seems people prefer glorified remote controlled  toys over autonomous "beings". I don't really understand it myself. Sony is no longer creating personal robots because it was no longer a financially viable option. A lot of the newer robots look like they could be fun, until you realize that they are not autonomous whatsoever and only have a small repertoire of features to offer. All the robots they're making now are for children who tire of the toys after only a few hours. I'm disappointed that more research isn't being put into social interactions and needs to create robots that fill the emotional need for companionship. When you buy your kid a doll, you aren't buying them a toy, but a companion they can have fun with. I hope we'll eventually have awesome robot companions like that robotic dog from that car commercial.