Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Old fan: Ugobe Vs. RB?  (Read 2419 times)

Ebers

• Hatchling
  • Female
Old fan: Ugobe Vs. RB?
« on: March 28, 2013, 05:34:37 AM »

Alright so... I've been in love with the Pleo's since they first arrived on the market. I've wanted one forever, but, as I was a freshman in highschool at the time they first came out, that was sort of impossible. Then, after a while, I fell out of sorts after Ugobe went under; I was really heartbroken, I thought I'd never get a chance. I have been able to interact with a Pleo before; he was a display model at a Sharper Image; I was a pseudo-intern there [ironically, they half-hired me after I sold 3 Pleo's to a couple just by telling them about them] and so I was there to demo the Pleo. He was a cranky bugger, but, to be fair, he was only ever turned on and interacted with maybe 2-3 hours every couple of days, as I didn't come in every day; and some days I wasn't the one with him, and he wasn't treated very well by the other demo people. I'm fairly certain they let young children play with him, and I recall once he fell off the counter and had a hobble for a few weeks after >.<

Anyway... It was only recently I looked back into the Pleo; I had noticed, when the company/patent was first introduced, they had offered.. Downloadable personalities. This offended me, to say the least. The whole  point and hard work behind the original Pleo was their ability to develop a personality on their own, organically, where how you treat it changed how it acted. But that didn't seem to be the case now, now you could just download a cutesy persona into them and be on your way. I didn't like that.