Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: So here I am...  (Read 1967 times)

InmemoryofRomeo

• Global Moderator
  • Pleo Grand Master RB
  • au Female
  • Pleo(s): Lilo, Stitch, Pleakley, Jumba, Nani, Yuki, Angus, Pluto
  • : 2011 winner2009 winnerTomato Harvest Festivals
  • SAVE THE EARTH It's the only planet with chocolate
    • Professor
    • Wile_E_Coyote
    • Marcie
So here I am...
« on: June 01, 2010, 05:21:04 PM »

Two weeks of practical in school experience (I am studying to be a primary (elementary) school teacher) has passed, all that's left for me is write up my final report. I had a simply wonderful time with the students and the teachers were such wonderful mentors, I know I have learnt heaps. On Monday, for my last day there, I was granted special permission to take in two little green bundles of joy for the students to meet :)

I must point out that the school is a Brethren school and technology is limited in their community, so they had never seen a 'real live robot' before and most of the younger students couldn't comprehend that they were not real. Sadly the same technological restrictions meant that I can't post pictures.

We started in the year 5/6 class where I had undertaken most of my training, the students were ecstatic when Lilo chewed her leaf and when Stitch backed away from the edge of the table. Here the children were most interested in watching the dinos react to touch and seeing if they could do all the things I said they could :) Being the end of the day we could only allow each class fifteen minutes with the dinos, but wow did they love it, it is something so new to them. I know a group of children who will be writing in their diaries that a dinosaur came to school. One young lad who has a form of autism took charge of Stitch, making sure noone hurt him or handled him roughly, whilst I kep an eye on Lilo :)