Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: pleo total control  (Read 9088 times)

j43

• Leaving the nest
  • Male
pleo total control
« on: January 13, 2010, 01:10:36 PM »

hey guys,

i'm new to these forums, so first i'll introduce myself. i'm an engineering student from new jersey. lately, one of my professor and i have been working out a way we could get pleo to basically do whatever we want (solve puzzles, answer questions, etc.). we've come to the conclusion that pleos built in hardware is just not powerful enough to do what we want. so, we've decided to sync pleo up with a computer, have pleo send information back to the computer, and the computer send commands to pleo. so, my question is if anyone knows if there is any way to communicate indirectly with dino-mite, and thus pleo. for example, it would be great to have a batch file or something that made pleo walk. then, i could just use the batch file whenever i wanted, and out of any programming language i wanted.

does anyone have any idea how this would even be possible? the end goal is to have a set of functions in matlab (my favorite programming language), that would basically control pleo. i would have a couple of functions for movement, one to take a picture, and one to read a picture off of an sd card.

any help would be really great, i didn't get any information on this kind of thing out of the dino-mite .pdf. thanks!

-j

degers

• Administrator
  • Pleo adept
  • gb Male
  • Degers can't be choosers
Re: pleo total control
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 02:28:19 PM »

j43, take a look at the Pleo Development Kit.  It provides help with communicating with the Pleo Monitor over a serial-over-usb interface, I think this would be the best way to interface Pleo to Matlab.

http://pleoworld.com/downloads/pdk.aspx

Getorix

• Following the footsteps
  • Male
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 06:12:29 PM »