Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: INTRODUCTIONS: DADIO and STONEY  (Read 4711 times)

Dadio

• Pleozoologist
  • Male
  • Robotics, is the sincerest form of flattery!
INTRODUCTIONS: DADIO and STONEY
« on: April 04, 2009, 07:48:14 PM »

----------------
Dadio’s  Plog # 001 – Started 03 Jan 09 Posted  04 April 09

INTRODUCTIONS   
  Hello one and all or anyone if you're interested. I've never written a Plog or Blog before so please bear with me. For the purposes of this Plog, I’m “Dadio” I thought I’d say a little about myself in this first effort and concentrate on Stoney, my Pleo thereafter. << The UGOBE web site has been down as far as loading Plog(s) and photos but I’ve kept writing and am posting them all when it’s up and running again in this instance with Bob the Pleo.>>

I'm handicapped and take massive amounts of hydro-morphone (a strong type of morphine). Because of this I'm stuck inside for most of the winter here in Canada's beautiful clean Capital city. I’m alone for most of the day except for a nurse who comes for an hour each Monday to Friday to care for some of my needs.

I love Jazz, Blues & an eclectic mix of other music. I make detailed model cars, planes, ships & I make and fly R/C helicopters. I’m just entering the field of robotics. I have no idea what took me so long but it's working out to be a perfect fit.

WHY GET A PLEO?

I looked to find a pet to help fill the void but due to my limitations I couldn't realistically care for another living entity. When I came across the Pleo Project it seemed like an instant fit. 

The big problem was I’m a medically retired Program Manager in his mid 50's. My wife and I live on a small fixed government pension which barely meets our bills each month.  The cost was out of reach without saving for many months.